About Replacing Your Car Registration in Florida
You must replace a lost car registration in Florida as soon as your original credential is no longer in your possession or you have reason to believe that someone has stolen it from you. Additionally, you must replace your registration credentials if your original license plate, validation decal or registration card sustains a significant amount of damage from fire, water, vandalism or any other incident.
In most cases, you can get duplicate registration credentials online, in person or via the MyFlorida smartphone app. In addition to replacing lost vehicle registration credentials, state law requires you to replace your license plates once every 10 years.
If your vehicle’s license plates are 10 years of age or older, you may replace them immediately or you may wait until your next car registration renewal period. To learn more about these requirements and the methods to replace your registration credentials, review the sections below.
Replacing a Damaged or Lost Registration in Florida
To replace a car registration in Florida after your original card disappears from your possession, sustains damage or is no longer readable, you have two options. You may either complete the process in person at a Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) service center, or you may submit your request online or via the MyFlorida mobile app. Learn more about each of these replacement methods by reviewing the sections below.
Can you print your car registration online? This is a common question for those who lose, damage or misplace their vehicle’s original registration card.
Typically, you may print a replacement credential online if you can provide your date of birth, Social Security number (SSN), driver’s license number and the license plate number of your registered vehicle. If you are not eligible to request a replacement car registration online, you may visit an FLHSMV customer service center to submit your request in person.
To purchase a copy of registration credentials in person at an FLHSMV service center, you must visit the office during its regular operating hours. In most cases, you will receive the replacement card before leaving the office.
Via Mobile App
To purchase an FL DMV copy of registration via the MyFlorida smartphone app, you must first download the application to your iOS or Android device. Then, you must be able to provide your vehicle’s license plate number or VIN. If you experience any issues while submitting your request, you may contact the FLHSMV’s customer service department by phone.
Getting a DMV Copy of Florida Registration Decals and Plates
To purchase auto registration replacement decals or license plates after these items sustain damages or disappear from your vehicle, you must submit a request in person or by mailing an application to your county tax collector’s office or local license plate agency.
Note: Unless your plates were stolen from you, you must pay a fee to purchase a duplicate license plate or decal.
You must also file a police report with a local law enforcement agency if you believe that your registration credentials were stolen. When applying for a replacement decal or license plate, you must submit a copy of the police report in order to receive a duplicate credential at no charge.
To apply for a duplicate auto registration credential in person, you must visit a local license plate agency or county tax collector’s office. During your visit, you must submit any required documents, including a completed application that includes a reason for your request.
To apply for duplicate car registration decals and/or license plates by mail, you must complete an application and submit along with a copy of the vehicle’s current registration certificate. If necessary, you must include a copy of your police report and payment for the applicable fee.
To learn more about obtaining replacement car registration decals and/or plates, download our free car registration guide.