How to Renew a Car Registration in West Virginia
Applying for a car registration renewal in West Virginia is your responsibility as a registered vehicle owner. Failure to do so may result in the incurrence of traffic tickets and penalty fees.
To complete this mandatory process, you must submit your application in person, online or by mail.
As a reminder to renew your registration credentials in a timely manner, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will send you a renewal notice in the mail approximately 30 days in advance.
If you do not receive a DMV registration renewal notice, however, you will still be responsible for renewing your credentials before they expire.
To learn more about these requirements and the steps you must take to renew your DMV credentials before they expire, review the information below.
Your West Virginia Car Registration Check
You must perform a WV car reg check and safety inspection once every 12 months prior to renewing your registration credentials with the West Virginia DMV.
To do so, bring your registered vehicle to an official inspection station to submit proof of automobile insurance and a current registration card.
Once your vehicle passes its annual safety test, you will receive a new inspection sticker for the vehicle’s windshield. By law, you cannot legally operate your motor vehicle without a valid inspection sticker.
Download our free guide for more information about the vehicle inspection process.
How to Apply for a License Plate Renewal in West Virginia
To apply for a tag renewal after your vehicle passes a safety inspection, you will choose to complete the process in one of three ways: online, in person or by mail.
How to Renew Online
To renew your registration online in WV, the first step is visiting the WV DMV’s website. You must then provide several pieces of information, including your county of residence and license plate number.
Once your DMV records are located, you must be able to pay the registration renewal fee with an accepted form of credit.
If your county does not participate in the DMV’s online renewal program or you cannot provide your vehicle’s title and license plate number, you must complete the registration process in person or by mail.
When applying for a DMV car registration renewal in person rather than online, visit your regional Division of Motor Vehicles office. Then, submit the required documents, such as:
- Proof of automobile insurance.
- Your personal property tax receipt.
- Payment for your registration fees.
In some parts of the state, you can renew your registration materials at your county sheriff’s office, eliminating the need to visit the DMV.
In this case, however, you must submit a renewal notice in addition to the other required documents.
If you cannot check vehicle registration status online or in person, you can forward your completed registration renewal notice to the West Virginia DMV in Charleston.
With your request, include a personal property tax receipt and payment for the required fee.