How to Renew Your Car Registration in Colorado
After completing the initial car registration process, you must complete a Colorado car registration renewal every year before it expires. Failing to obtain a registration sticker tag renewal on time can result in fines and other penalties if you are stopped by a law enforcement agent.
In most cases, a Colorado vehicle registration is valid for 12 months and must be renewed on the last day of the month of the current registration period.
You may receive a Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) registration renewal notice a few weeks before your registration’s expiration date to remind you to start the process. However, even if the DMV neglects to send a notice, you are still responsible for keeping your registration current.
Keep reading to learn more about renewing your vehicle registration in Colorado.
Renewing Registration Online in Colorado
To renew registration online via the state’s website, your vehicle must be registered in an eligible county, such as Adams, El Paso, Jefferson, Rio Blanco and Yuma. Drivers in these counties can complete a DMV car registration renewal online as long as they have completed the emissions requirement, have current auto insurance and have no holds on the vehicle. Information needed for online renewal includes:
- The license plate number.
- The vehicle identification number (VIN) or DMV verification code.
- Proof of insurance.
You must follow the prompts to enter all required information and pay the CO car registration renewal fees. The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles takes a few days to process online renewal requests. As such, allow up to 15 business days to receive your renewal documents by mail.
You can call the DMV for a car registration check if your new registration card and tags have not arrived within three weeks. You can also do a car reg check online to find out when your new documents will arrive.
Other Methods for Colorado Tag Renewal
If your vehicle is not registered in one of the counties eligible for online renewals, you may apply for a license plate renewal in person, by mail or by using a self-serving kiosk.
An in-person DMV registration renewal is available during normal business hours at your local county motor vehicle office.
Check your renewal notice to learn what documents you will need to bring. This typically includes proof of insurance and a current emissions test receipt, if testing is required in your county. You must also bring a form of payment for your renewal fees.
You can avoid the DMV office entirely by submitting your CO tag renewal application by mail.
Your renewal notice includes instructions for the by-mail renewal process and the address to send your forms and payment. As with an online car registration renewal, allow up to 15 business days to receive your new documents by mail.
Self-service Colorado car registration renewal is available through MVExpress kiosks located in certain counties throughout the state. These transactions usually take two minutes to complete, provided that you have a valid credit or debit card to pay your renewal fees.
Simply scan your renewal notice or enter your license plate number to receive a new registration card and tabs on the spot.
Download our free guide for tips on renewing auto registration quicker and easier.