About Changing Your Address on Your Maine Registration
You must perform a DMV change of address in Maine whenever you relocate from one part of the state to another.
If you do not notify the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) of your new address, you may not receive important information pertaining to your driver’s license, vehicle registration and titling credentials.
As such, it is important to change your car registration address information as soon as you move into a new home. By law, you must update the address on your vehicle registration records within 10 days of making this change.
Before updating the address on your vehicle registration credentials, you must change your address with the United States Postal Service (USPS).
Learn more about the requirements you must meet to update your Maine address by reviewing the information below.
What do I need to change my car registration address in Maine?
Before performing an address change on your car registration and titling credentials, you must update your mailing information with the USPS.
To do so, visit your local USPS facility or for a small fee, submit your request online.
Next, you must perform an address change on registration credentials by visiting your local town office.
Depending on where in Maine you live, this may include a finance or excise office. You cannot perform a change of address online in ME, as the state requires you to visit a local town office to submit your request in person.
During your office visit, you will need to submit your vehicle’s current certificate of registration.
Depending on the city or town in which you live, you may need to submit proof of residency as well, such as a current lease agreement or utility bill.
Note: You can notify the Maine BMV of your address change without obtaining a replacement registration certificate that displays your new address. However, if you wish to do so, you must pay a fee.
Other Maine BMV Change of Address Requirements
After submitting a DMV change of address form to your town office, you must visit your local BMV branch to update the information on your Maine driver’s license.
By law, you must update the information on your driver’s license within 30 days of changing your address.
When correcting the address on your driver’s license, you must be able to present proof of Maine residency.
Acceptable proof may include a recent utility bill, fishing license or tax return.
Download our free guide for more information on how to perform these tasks.