How to Apply for a Car Registration in Missouri
Obtaining Missouri vehicle registration and titling credentials is a process that you must complete within 30 days of purchasing, acquiring or inheriting a new or used automobile. If you do not register your newly acquired vehicle in a timely manner, you will need to pay a penalty fee when you do apply for a registration.
Additionally, you cannot legally drive your vehicle on public roads until you purchase a temporary permit or register the car with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR).
To obtain DMV registration credentials for your vehicle, you must visit any license office in the state to submit your application materials in person. Review the sections below to learn more about these requirements and the steps you must take to register your vehicle.
Missouri DMV Car Registration Requirements
To obtain new car registration credentials after purchasing, acquiring or inheriting a motor vehicle, you must be able to provide the DOR with proof of automobile ownership. However, the specific types of documents you must submit will vary depending on whether your vehicle is new or used.
There is also a fee to pay to process your application. Review the following information to learn more about what you need to register your car.
To register a brand new vehicle with the Missouri DOR, visit a local licensing office to submit some of the following documents:
- A manufacturer’s statement of origin
- A completed DOR registration and titling application
- Proof of completing a safety inspection, if applicable
Note: When obtaining a new MO auto registration for a new vehicle that was purchased outside of the state, you may also need to submit a bill of sale or dealer’s invoice.
Download our free guide for a full list of all the documents you will need to obtain your registration.
You may wonder, “How can I get a Missouri car registration near me for my used vehicle?” When registering a used car, truck, minivan or SUV, you will need to visit your local DMV office. Once there, you must present proper documentation, including:
- A reassigned certificate of title.
- A completed titling application.
- Proof of automobile insurance.
If you purchased the used vehicle from a state that does not issue vehicle titles, you must submit a bill of sale in lieu of a reassigned certificate of title to receive MO vehicle registration records. Additionally, you may need to submit an odometer disclosure statement.
The last step in the car registration process is paying your vehicle registration fees. Once you pay car registration fees and submit your required application materials, you may purchase a temporary permit if you do not have license plates to transfer to your newly acquired vehicle.
This temporary permit remains valid for 30 days or until you receive your permanent registration materials from the DOR.
Note: While you are only required to apply for a new registration once, you must complete the registration renewal process every year or every few years to continue operating on public roadways.
Download our free guide to learn more about the costs associated with a new car registration in Missouri.