How to Apply for a Car Registration in Wyoming
Obtaining Wyoming vehicle registration credentials is one of the first steps you must take after purchasing, acquiring or inheriting a new or used car.
If you do not register your newly acquired vehicle within a specific amount of time, you may need to pay a penalty fee when you do apply for new registration credentials.
While the specific DMV registration application process varies depending on the area in which you live, you will typically need to visit your local county treasurer’s office to register the newly acquired vehicle in person.
To title a newly acquired vehicle, however, you must visit the clerk’s office in the county where you reside.
Learn more about these registration requirements in the sections below.
How to Get Vehicle Registration Records in Wyoming
“Where can I apply for WY car registration near me?” is a question you may have after purchasing or acquiring a new or used vehicle.
To obtain new car registration credentials, you must visit the treasurer’s office in the county where you live to submit your application materials in person.
During your office visit, you will typically need to submit some of the following documents:
- The vehicle’s title number or current certificate of title
- A dealer invoice or bill of sale
- Proof of automobile insurance
- An inspection affidavit
Download our free guide for a full list of documents you will need for a vehicle registration in Wyoming.
Note: If registering an out-of-state automobile in Wyoming, you may need to submit photo identification and the vehicle’s out-of-state title and/or current certificate of registration as well. As for a leased vehicle, you must also submit a lease agreement as part of the registration process.
Wyoming Vehicle Registration Fees and Taxes
When obtaining Wyoming DMV car registration credentials from your county treasurer’s office, you must pay licensing fees and a sales tax.
it is important to note that these fees vary depending on several factors, including the weight, make and model.
When you pay car registration taxes and fees, you may also owe interest and/or penalty fees if you fail to register your newly purchased vehicle in a timely manner.
To avoid the incurrence of these auto registration penalty fees, you must complete the application process within 45 days of acquiring a vehicle from a private party, or 60 days if you purchased the automobile from a licensed Wyoming dealership.
Until you register your newly purchased vehicle, however, you can only operate it within the state of Wyoming.
Want more tips on how to obtain a new WY vehicle registration quickly and easily? Download our free guide.