How to Apply for a Car Registration in Alaska
An Alaska vehicle registration is required after taking ownership of a new or used vehicle. AK car registration requirements apply to current and new state residents who own vehicles, even if the car or truck was a gift or an inheritance. The Alaska Department of Administration oversees the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the offices that handle registrations and other motor vehicle services.
Although most states require all new DMV car registration transactions to happen in person, Alaska residents living in remote areas of the state may be able to register their vehicles by mail.
Keep in mind that if your car is already registered but you have lost the registration materials, you will need to order a duplicate car registration instead.
In addition, the process for registering a dealer-bought car is different from the process to register a car acquired through a private sale. Review the following sections to get valuable tips on registering a vehicle in Alaska.
Alaska Vehicle Registration Requirements
Having an Alaska DMV registration is required unless the vehicle is specifically exempted by law. New car registration is usually handled by the dealer when you purchase a vehicle from a car dealership. As part of your transaction, the dealer will submit your vehicle registration records and accompanying paperwork directly to the DMV.
To avoid potential problems, verify that the dealer has submitted your forms before you leave the dealership in your new car or truck.
You must complete an in-person registration for a vehicle bought in a private sale or acquired as part of an inheritance or gift, unless you receive an exemption for living a certain distance from your nearest DMV location.
Registration must happen within 30 days of acquiring a vehicle. However, new Alaska residents only have a few days from the date they move to the state to transfer an out-of-state auto registration.
When you apply for a DMV car registration in Alaska, you will need the following:
- Vehicle title, if there is no lienholder
- Current out-of-state vehicle registration
- A valid form of photo ID
You will also need proof of car insurance and a completed registration application. Learn more about the documents you must bring to the DMV in this comprehensive car registration guide.
Where to Get an Alaska Car Registration Near Me
Are you wondering, “Where can I find car registration near me?”
For residents living in Alaska, the answer is not always straightforward. In act, you may have no local DMV office unless you live within 50 miles of the following areas:
- Eagle River
However, there are dozens of other DMV office locations throughout Alaska, so it is best to check the DOA’s website before assuming that you do not live near a DMV office.
If you send a car registration application by mail from less than 50 miles away, your documents will be returned to you.
Note that smaller DMV registration locations may only be open for limited hours on certain days of the month. Fortunately, some AK DMV offices may allow you to schedule appointments online to save time.
Alaska Vehicle Registration Fees
AK DMV vehicle registration fees vary by the type of car or truck you have. Some areas of the state also apply a separate Motor Vehicle Registration Tax (MVRT).
You can use the DMV’s online vehicle registration fees calculator to determine how much you must pay before visiting the DMV or mailing your application.
Ways to Pay Car Registration Fees in Alaska
Paying your DMV registration fees will keep your car properly registered in Alaska for two years.
You can pay car registration fees with Visa or Mastercard credit and debit cards, or by personal check or money order made payable to “State of Alaska” or “Division of Motor Vehicles.”
Get more information on how to register your car in Alaska by download our free in-depth guide.